West Bengal Zoo Authority

Govt. of West Bengal established the West Bengal Zoo Authority in the year 2009 for the development and scientific management of Govt. controlled zoos in the state. There are 12 Govt. controlled zoos in the state of West Bengal which are presently being managed by the West Bengal Zoo Authority. The West Bengal Zoo Authority is also managing/ funding 8 (eight) specially established Conservation Breeding Centre in the state. Govt. of West Bengal provides Grant-in-Aid annually to the West Bengal Zoo Authority for the proper scientific management and development of zoos in the state. More than fifty laks people visit Zoos in West Bengal. The internal Resources raised by the zoos including the gate entry collection are also utilised for the maintenance and development of zoos.

The mission of West Bengal Zoo Authority is to provide exemplary care to the Zoo's wildlife population in a planned manner to ensure eco- system based naturalistic animal enclosures which will help in conservation breeding of rare and endangered species through best practices of Zoo management, veterinary care and inspiring current and future generations to become active citizens in wildlife conservation through nature education and awareness program.

Main Objectives

The main objective of the zoos is to complement and strengthen the national efforts in conservation of wildlife and bio-diversity of the country.The West Bengal Zoo Authority has adopted strategy to achieve these objectives through the following

Planning and Development of all the zoos in the state in a systematic manner.

Conservation Breeding Program of rare and endangered species like Red Panda , Snow Leopard, Salt Water Crocodile, Fishing Cat and Batagur Baska.

Rescue and Rehabilitation of stray and injured animals.

Welfare and health care of zoo animals with team of experts.

Conduct Integrated scientific research in the field of wildlife conservation.

Nature education and awareness generation among students and public.

capacity building and human resource development through training programmes.

Zoological Garden, Alipore (Kolkata) (ESTD - 1875)

Padmaja Naidu Himalayan Zoological Park ,Darjeeling (ESTD - 1958)

North Bengal Wild Animals Park (Bengal Safari),Siliguri (ESTD - 2016)

Junglemahal Zoological Park, Jhargram (ESTD - 1980)

Sundarban Wild Animals Park, Jharkhali (24 pgs District) (ESTD - 1977)

Bardhaman Zoological Park, Bardhaman (ESTD - 1981)

Rasikbeel Mini Zoo, Coochbehar (ESTD - 1997)

Surulia Mini Zoo ,Purulia (ESTD - 1998)

Garchumuk Deer Park, District-Howrah (ESTD - 1991)

Adina Deer Park, District- Malda (ESTD - 1982)

South Khairbari Mini Zoo, District Alipurduar (ESTD - 2003)

Harinalaya Deer Park, New Town (ESTD - 2017)

Head Office Adress

West Bengal Zoo Authority

Aranya Bhawan, 7th Floor, Block - LA-10A, Sector III Salt Lake City, Kolkata - 700106, West Bengal

Head Office Contact

+91-33 23355011 (EPABX)/ 23355012

Fax: +91-33 2355012

wbzooauthority@yahoo.in, mswbza@gmail.com