FOREST FIRE VULNERABLE AREAS -WEST BENGAL

- The detection of forest fires in the recent times have been adequately intercepted with the modern technological advances and most of the times detected with a high level of accuracy by the remote sensing and GIS techniques. Since 2005 the GIS Lab under the Working Plan and GIS Circle has been collecting the spatial information and arriving at the location details in the field, subsequently the ground truthing and verification is done. On confirmation of the details the data base for annual forest fires is compiled and analysis done for the concerned year. This compiled information for any year can then be compared with any other year.
- The Fire Cell in Working Plan and GIS Circle was established in the year 2005. Later since 2008 this Cell started issuing daily Forest Fire alerts to different Forest divisions situated in West Bengal.In 2009-10 SMS system was briefly started by sending the SMS to the concerned DFOs, which was later discontinued as the system was not automated.
- Efforts are now being taken for Real-time monitoring of Fire instances and syncing the same with field and GIS Lab database for Forest Areas of the State. Now, FSI also send daily fire alerts to registered mobile nos. under FSI PORTAL. All the Divisional Forest Officers, Additional Divisional Forest Officers, Range Officers, Beat Officers etc. have been registered to receive fire alerts through sms.

<u>Fíre Prone Areas:</u>

West Bengal Forest Department has analyzed the forest fire incidences for various Forest Divisions for the years 2015-16, 2016-17, 2017-18,2018-19 and 2019-20. Based on the analysis by overlapping the fire incidences of the aforesaid years the fire prone areas were demarcated. Among the forest fire prone areas the following Divisions are most **vulnerable** as per previous year's compilation and analysis: Bankura South Division, Bankura North Division, Panchet Division, Rupnarayan Division, Medinipur Division, Jhargram Division, Kharagpur Division, Baikunthapur Division, Jalpaiguri Division, Wildlife-III Division, BTR (West) Division, BTR (East) Division, KSC (North) Division,KSC (South) Division, Purulia Division, Wildlife-I Division, Darjeeling Division, Kurseong Division and Kalimpong Division.